My thoughts* on ACIM Urtext Lesson 321 for 17 November 2023. Without Acknowledging God, We Imprison Ourselves

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons
3 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Father, my freedom is in You alone.

* Today I would express this as meaning that when I think that I am “real” in any other way than in God I lose my freedom.

* God, being the Whole of what Creation Is, embraces the value of the Whole Self. Without this witness, one is left to compare, and thereby tempted to see lack, or greater abundance manifested in that which is Itself yet what It considers it to be separate.

1. I did not understand what made me free, nor what my freedom is, nor where to look to find it.

²Father, I have searched in vain until I heard Your Voice directing me.

³Now I would guide myself no more.

* THIS IS BIG and something that we typically do not want to agree to because we think we are something that we are not which is separated from God.

⁴For I have neither made nor understood the way to find my freedom.

⁵But I trust in You.

⁶You Who endowed me with my freedom as Your holy Son will not be lost to me.

⁷Your Voice directs me, and the way to You is opening and clear to me at last.

* This would be the (W)holy Spirit or Inner Voice within.

⁸Father, my freedom is in You alone.

⁹Father, it is my will that I return.

2. Today we answer for the world, which will be freed along with us.

²How glad are we to find our freedom through the certain way our Father has established.

* I trust this. That is why I can live in the “world of stories” and not think that I am the story. I am given my role in the story so that I may witness of God through that language. This does not mean that I am not present and engaged in my role or that I myself and the rest of myself as Christ do not exist as some students believe.

³And how sure is all the world’s salvation, when we learn our freedom can be found in God alone.

* Salvation is in God alone, end of story, welcome to Eternal Life.

(ACIM, W-321.1:1–2:3)

Father, my freedom is in You alone.

1. I did not understand what made me free, nor what my freedom is, nor where to look to find it. ²Father, I have searched in vain until I heard Your Voice directing me. ³Now I would guide myself no more. ⁴For I have neither made nor understood the way to find my freedom. ⁵But I trust in You. ⁶You Who endowed me with my freedom as Your holy Son will not be lost to me. ⁷Your Voice directs me, and the way to You is opening and clear to me at last. ⁸Father, my freedom is in You alone. ⁹Father, it is my will that I return.

2. Today we answer for the world, which will be freed along with us. ²How glad are we to find our freedom through the certain way our Father has established. ³And how sure is all the world’s salvation, when we learn our freedom can be found in God alone.

(ACIM, W-321.1:1–2:3)

Till next time, God bless, debi.

--

--

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons

Atonement, His (Christ’s) Story, Three Temptations: Addiction, Power-Hunger, and Depression, “Seeing” Truth in the “Unseen”, Living Above the Chaos C U there :)