My thoughts* on ACIM Urtext Lesson 322 for 18 November 2023. I can give up but what was never real.

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons
3 min readNov 19, 2023

--

I can give up but what was never real.

* Think about this as you discover the need for healthy boundaries and what this means, please.

1. I sacrifice illusions; nothing more.

* There REALLY is no competition, strive, abuse, or anything else that causes fear.

* This does not mean that we do not need to place ourselves in “environments” where we feel safe and able to “be.”

²And as illusions go I find the gifts illusions tried to hide, awaiting me in shining welcome, and in readiness to give God’s ancient messages to me.

* Oh my goodness! I am actually experiencing this in very concrete ways at this time!

* “Welcome” is a key word to me at this time. Letting myself be “welcome” in the space I occupy is important to me.

³His memory abides in every gift that I receive of Him.

* Yes! It IS God speaking to me in every experience that says “I am enough.” “I am worthy.”

⁴And every dream serves only to conceal the Self which is God’s only Son, the likeness of Himself, the Holy One Who still abides in Him forever, as He still abides in me.

* YOU are a part of God’s Only Son. “Only” meaning that there is one creation to which God gave His Whole Self and that is His Son.

2. Father, to You all sacrifice remains forever inconceivable.

* Yes! Sacrifice is NOT part of God’s Essence or desire. This is contrary to what we are taught in ANY Christian ideology or doctrine that I am aware of.

²And so I cannot sacrifice except in dreams.

* Hence, my psyche must be caught up in some sort of dream but this does not mean that I am not real or valid.

³As You created me, I can give up nothing You gave me.

* Nothing alters God’s Will and you are that you might have joy and this in abundance.

⁴What You did not give has no reality.

* I choose to give up everything that is not from God. This does not mean that I lose anything or anyone in Reality even though I may seem separated from someone or something for a time.

⁵What loss can I anticipate except the loss of fear, and the return of love into my mind?

* Yes! The return of love into my mind is the return of the witness that God Lives Eternally and that I live with Him NOW and Eternally. Or in the Eternal NOW which I can accept today.

(ACIM, W-322.1:1–2:5)

I can give up but what was never real.

1. I sacrifice illusions; nothing more. ²And as illusions go I find the gifts illusions tried to hide, awaiting me in shining welcome, and in readiness to give God’s ancient messages to me. ³His memory abides in every gift that I receive of Him. ⁴And every dream serves only to conceal the Self which is God’s only Son, the likeness of Himself, the Holy One Who still abides in Him forever, as He still abides in me.

2. Father, to You all sacrifice remains forever inconceivable. ²And so I cannot sacrifice except in dreams. ³As You created me, I can give up nothing You gave me. ⁴What You did not give has no reality. ⁵What loss can I anticipate except the loss of fear, and the return of love into my mind?

(ACIM, W-322.1:1–2:5)

Till next time, God bless, debi.

--

--

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons

Atonement, His (Christ’s) Story, Three Temptations: Addiction, Power-Hunger, and Depression, “Seeing” Truth in the “Unseen”, Living Above the Chaos C U there :)