My thoughts* on ACIM Urtext Lesson 324 for 20 November 2023. I merely follow, for I would not lead.

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons
3 min readNov 20, 2023

--

* I do not know enough to lead anyone else. But the Holy Spirit guides each of us.

I merely follow, for I would not lead.

* THIS is something that the ego really balks at! In the world of form if someone leads their own life people get AFRAID and attack or shun you. They will say you are egotistic to think God would speak to you and direct you.

* In reality, we each know that this is the only way to freedom for anyone.

1. Father, You are the One Who gave the plan for my salvation to me.

* This is another reason why it is VITAL to acknowledge our Creator. Knowing that He makes it possible for each of us to be guided from inside so that we AVOID the temptation to believe that it is ourselves alone who does so.

²You have set the way I am to go, the role to take, and every step in my appointed path.

* This is so dynamic to me! I do not have to sweat over things! I can trust myself ONCE I know that I am following the promptings of the Spirit (It is truly possible to know this.) and not just listening to my own desires and inclinations.

³I cannot lose the way.

* I KNOW this to be true!

⁴I can but choose to wander off a while, and then return.

* This is the TRUTH of the Gospel of Jesus Christ!

⁵Your loving Voice will always call me back, and guide my feet aright.

* Absolutely!

⁶My brothers all can follow in the way I lead them.

* Hmm. Walk without fear.

⁷Yet I merely follow in the way to You, as You direct me and would have me go.

2. So let us follow One Who knows the way.

* That is the (W)Holy Spirit.

²We need not tarry, and we cannot stray except an instant from His loving Hand.

* The (W)Holy Spirit shows us the way while it is God who calls us Home and is the Loving Hand (or Mind) that we seek.

³We walk together, for we follow Him.

* This UNITES us and frees us from rule by one another.

⁴And it is He Who makes the ending sure, and guarantees a safe returning home.

* It is important to acknowledge that it is God Who makes the ending sure and has guaranteed a safe return home.

(ACIM, W-324.1:1–2:4)

I merely follow, for I would not lead.

1. Father, You are the One Who gave the plan for my salvation to me. ²You have set the way I am to go, the role to take, and every step in my appointed path. ³I cannot lose the way. ⁴I can but choose to wander off a while, and then return. ⁵Your loving Voice will always call me back, and guide my feet aright. ⁶My brothers all can follow in the way I lead them. ⁷Yet I merely follow in the way to You, as You direct me and would have me go.

2. So let us follow One Who knows the way. ²We need not tarry, and we cannot stray except an instant from His loving Hand. ³We walk together, for we follow Him. ⁴And it is He Who makes the ending sure, and guarantees a safe returning home.

(ACIM, W-324.1:1–2:4)

Till next time, God bless, debi.

--

--

Debra (Debi) Yvonne Simmons

Atonement, His (Christ’s) Story, Three Temptations: Addiction, Power-Hunger, and Depression, “Seeing” Truth in the “Unseen”, Living Above the Chaos C U there :)